Sign in with
Your question

Just put system together. cpu temp 87c

Last response: in Overclocking
March 3, 2012 1:07:03 PM

I am new to the High tech computer world. i basically gave my brother my credit card and said order me a badass computer. so he did and put it together for me. i installed windows and after it rebooted i got an error in bios saying cpu temp hi. and its reading 87c. when i'm at main windows screen my core temp i downloaded is telling me 49'54c. but if i have a window like youtube or something opened it goes up past 70c+. my first motherboard did the same thing so i rma'd it and just put my new one in last night. same temps. i don't know ANYTHING about overclocking or how to get my temps lower. and i have a zalman 9500 cololer on it. i switched to the factory intel cooler to see if it changed.. makes the same numbers. and my mb is an asus p8p67 1155 chipset with an intel i5 2500 cpu. i called asus tech support and they told me to read the manual. i called them back again and they said they can't help me that i shouldn't have bought a computer if i didn't know how to operate it."like really" that being said everyone is a beginner sometime in their life. so is their something in bios that someone has any ideas of how to get these temps lower. ;-( i do not believe its my heatsink its a setting in bios but i really don't want to touch it and fry something.
March 3, 2012 3:56:09 PM

Did you apply thermal paste to the CPU?
March 3, 2012 4:00:22 PM

AndrewK1 said:
Did you apply thermal paste to the CPU?

yes, and like i said tried 2 different fans
Related resources
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
March 3, 2012 4:17:25 PM

Did you take you off the tape from the heatsink which is meant to protect it during transit?. It's where the heatsink makes contact with the cpu.
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
March 3, 2012 4:22:40 PM