Sign in with
Your question

2500k overclocking problem

Last response: in Overclocking
March 5, 2012 4:55:10 AM

Sorry guys Im new to intel. Ive read thread after thread and have a pretty good idea on how all this works but Im having a weird issue.
Im on the asrock p67 fatal1ty performance mother board with the 2500k cpu.

I have the mutliplier set to 45 and the vcore set to 1.38
All the C states disabled and speed step disabled.
Spectrum disabled.
Everything else Ive left alone.

Here is what I cant figure out.

1. After boot I pull up cpu-z and it read 4500mhz. (good)
2. Vcore is only 1.35-1.37 fluxuating even tho I have it static at 1.38 (is this how its supposed to work?0
3. In the middle of running intel burn test my multiplier changes back and forth from 45, 35, and 36? My core speed read back and forth from 4500Mhz, 3500Mhz, and 3600Mhz? Why does it clock down like this under load?

March 5, 2012 5:29:16 AM

in OC tweaker settings ( in BIOS ) change the "MAX WATT PER CORE" and "SHORT AND LONG TURBO DURATION" setting (i'm not home so i can't tell you the exact settings label ) from 150 to 200 ...
try having the "Load Line Calibration" aslo set to LEVEL 2 .

leave C1E enabled and also thermal throttling , C1E will reduce ur frequency so that u donot stay @ 4500 all the time and switch back to 1600 when idle .

had the same problem but got solved after a little tweaking ...
m
l
March 5, 2012 5:41:16 AM

( would a mod please tell me why i can;t edit my posts ... )

Googled an image of the bios , the settings are as follows:

Short Duration power Limit : 250
Long Duration Power Limit : 250
Spread Spectrum : Disabled
Core Current Limit : 250
Internal PLL Overvoltage : Disabled
CPU LoadLine Calibration : Level 2
CPU Core Voltage : 1.38

Cpu Configuration
CPU C3 State : Disabled
CPU C1E : Enabled
Package C Support : Disabled
m
l
Related resources
March 5, 2012 1:38:13 PM

Ok thanks man that fixed the multiplier problem but now the core is going all crazy.