Sign in with
Your question

8gb DDR2-800 + ASUS P5N-E SLI

Last response: in Memory
April 28, 2010 8:03:27 PM

I'm running 8gb of OCZ2N800SR4GK, DDR2-800 on a ASUS P5N-E SLI with a Q6600. Unfortunately, I am unable to get all 4 sticks to run @ 800mhz and have had to clock them down to get them all to run simultaneously, currently running them at ~710mhz.

I've done some reading, and it seems like there's a possibility of adjusting voltages to maybe fix this problem. As I am not an expert on BIOs, I was hoping I could get some advice.

General tweeking is a pain in the ass too, because a screw up leads to just a black screen, and means I have to pull a stick for the system to post.

Thanks in advance for the advice. If you need more system info, let me know.
a c 163 } Memory
a b Ĉ ASUS
April 29, 2010 1:32:34 PM

Hi newcomer and welcome to the Tom's hardware forum.

It's not a complicated process, just enter to the BIOS, go to advance settings and look for the DRAM voltage, set this to the recomended of your RAM, save and exit.
m
l
May 12, 2010 6:14:55 PM

The specs are giving the RAM 2.1v. The closest setting the bios has is 2.178v. and setting it there is causing Win7 to crash on load, BUT the machine does get through the post. At lower voltage settings, along with it's auto setting, the system gets stuck at posting. I played a little with the timing also, setting it specifically at 5-4-4-15, trying both t1 and t2, but no luck. Back to 700mhz for now....

Thanks again for the advice and sorry it took me a but to get back to ya. Looking forward to any other ideas you might have.
m
l
Related resources
a b } Memory
a b Ĉ ASUS
May 13, 2010 2:36:05 PM

Drace said:
I'm running 8gb of OCZ2N800SR4GK, DDR2-800 on a ASUS P5N-E SLI with a Q6600. Unfortunately, I am unable to get all 4 sticks to run @ 800mhz and have had to clock them down to get them all to run simultaneously, currently running them at ~710mhz.