Large RAID Setup, Slow Transfer Speed

Tags:
  • NAS / RAID
  • Enclosure
  • Storage
  • Product
Last response: in Storage
September 21, 2011 1:53:58 AM

I setup a raid system with Cavalry 4 bay enclosure through esata card, which promises 3Gbit/s speed, or 384MB/s equivalent. I have 4 2TB 5400 Hitachi drives setup with RAID 5 running on Win 7 64bit. But my transfer speed is super slow! I tried moving files over, for the first 2-3 seconds or so, it would race at 150-175mb/s, but then it slows to a crawl at around 4-6mb/s. This is unacceptable. I'm not sure what is wrong, and admittedly I'm a noob at this.

Appreciate any help!

More about : large raid setup slow transfer speed

a b G Storage
September 21, 2011 2:49:41 AM

Thats becasue of the mechanical bottleneck, you can speed things a little bit by making it RAID 0. Sell one of the drives and get a external drive for backup, RAID5 sucks nowadays in terms of data security
m
l
September 21, 2011 2:54:39 AM

Thanks for your quick response...can you elaborate on what exactly do you mean by "mechanical bottleneck"? Raid 0 does not have the redundancy I need. Is all raid 5 setup through external interface (esata) this slow? I find it hard to believe that 4-6mb is the best transfer speed I can get.
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
a b G Storage
September 21, 2011 3:30:34 AM

mechanical bottle neck? thats one hell of a bottle neck... sequential read speeds should maintain rather high. unless you are transferring thousands of 30kb files you should be well over 100MB/s. ensure the raid is not damaged and is properly functioning. your raid control software should tell you this. do not make this a raid-0, raid-0 should only be used where data is not important and regular backups should still be maintained. raid5 is the correct raid to use in this situation.
m
l

Best solution

a b G Storage
September 21, 2011 2:50:16 PM

leandrodafontoura said: