ares640

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2011
I just bought a new gaming rig, and unfortunately I did not consider RAID0 when I was building it. It has not arrived yet, so there is still time to express ship parts.

What I want to know is, how much of a general and gaming performance will I see if I buy a second HDD and RAID0 it? I am using a SSD for OS and important games, the HDD will be used for mass storage and games I do not play as often. Specs:

i5 2500k
MSI Z68A-GD55
MSI GTX 570 Twin Frozr III
8 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz

Crucial M4 128gb SSD
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820148442

Hitachi Deskstar 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB cache SATAII
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16822145304

As I said, the SSD is large enough to fit the games I will be playing the most, so RAID0 will not affect that. I have never used RAID before, so this concept is new to me. Advice?

Oh, and did I make a good choice picking the Crucial M4?

Solution

I wouldn't even bother with raid for your data. The M4 as boot drive and application will be plenty fast. Raid 0 is not safe for data, which is why ncc recommended raid 1. If you lose one drive in Raid 0, you'll lose your data. Not safe.

The latest firmware upgrade for the m4 shows as much as 20% faster performance, finally making it faster than the previous crucial C300s that were so popular. So yeah, they are good drives for the price.

Raiding SSD's is pointless as they will no longer be able to do trim function. So performance will degrade over time.

ncc74656

Distinguished
Sep 8, 2009
your games should be installed to your SSD. your storage drives should be raid 1 or 5 not raid 0. if you want more performance buy a second 128SSD and put them into raid-0. i have only used intel and ocz SSD's so i dont know much about the crucial but i have not heard any horror stories so that may say something about them.