Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Asus crosshair iv

Last response: in Memory
April 29, 2010 6:34:50 PM

hey guys, computer noob here again. im putting together a gaming rig and have pretty much everything picked out for the build. i have a 300$ budget give or take a lil just for memory. the motherboard is going to be the asus crosshair iv formula and i was hoping to get some advice on what memory to buy? any tips or suggestions are appreciated.

More about : asus crosshair

April 29, 2010 10:38:17 PM

ah sorry i shoulda given better info. well im going with the amd x4 black edition, radeon hd 5850, 2tb harddrive, 1200watt power supply. keep in mind that i will be adding a second 5850 with in a few months. i will eventually add a 6core cpu, woulda done it now but i want to wait and see what happens with price in sevral months either way its an am3 slot so no biggie. i will be adding a solid state drive later also. i dont think my rom drive, tower and heatsink really change anything about the memory and cooling wont be an issue.
m
l
Related resources
a b } Memory
April 29, 2010 10:58:39 PM

the mem above will be sufficient, though your psu is a bit excessive IMHO
m
l

Best solution

a c 163 } Memory
a b Ĉ ASUS
April 29, 2010 11:50:15 PM

Hi.

1- This G.Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2x2GB) 1333 are very good and are a very good option for u.

2- The PSU is overkill for your rig, this are the power requirements for your GPU.

ATI Radeon™ HD 5850 System Requirements

* PCI Express® based PC is required with one X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard
* 500 Watt or greater power supply with two 75W 6-pin PCI Express® power connectors recommended (600 Watt and four 6-pin connectors for ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode)
* Certified power supplies are recommended. Refer to http://ati.amd.com/certifiedPSU for a list of Certified products
* Minimum 1GB of system memory
* Installation software requires CD-ROM drive
* DVD playback requires DVD drive