Need Help with switching over to ahci

xandyboyx

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2011
I am using a msi p67a-gd65 mobo and when it booted it always looked for ide and would find no harddrive i did this sequence
- run regedit.
- go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/System/CurrentControlSet/Services/Msahci
- right-click Start in the Name column, and then click Modify.
- In the Value data box, type 0, and then click OK.
- exit the registry editor.

Then i rebooted the system went into the bios change all three of settings from ide to ahci
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/215/screenshotofmsibios.png/

THe sata marvell 6.0 and the e sata.

THe problem im having is when i start my machine it says no virtual disk the ide message went away and it says no hard disk or something like that but it boots up fine forgive me i am new to this did i need to change all of the settings could i change some back the computer runs very fast now it those messages are annoying im a bit precise in doing things and if you do them right why not. another thing by changing the msahci value from 3 to 0 will that hurt the machine?

Solution
According to the MS document, it states:

To resolve this issue yourself, enable the AHCI driver in the registry before you change the SATA mode of the boot drive. To do this, follow these steps:

Exit all Windows-based programs.
Click Start, type regedit in the Start Search box, and then press ENTER.
If you receive the User Account Control dialog box, click Continue.
Locate and then click one of the following registry subkeys:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Msahci
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\IastorV
In the right pane, right-click Start in the Name column, and then click Modify.
In the Value data box, type 0, and then click OK.
On the File menu, click...

xandyboyx

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2011