RAM Timing, New system, I'm a novice

Hi, I'm new to this forum.

I just got a brand new Alienware Aurora.
The specs.

-Intel Core i7 CPU 930 Quad Core Overlocked to 3.37Ghz
-9Gigs of DDR3 Triple Channel Memory (RAM Speed : 642.4 MHz (2:8) @ 9-9-9-24) <-- Can someone explain this to me? The 2:8, and the 642.4Mhz..
-NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260 1.8GB with Direct X 11.
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
-LG 22Inch Widescreen Monitor connected Via VGA to DVI converter 1920-1080 resolution. Direct X 11.

Link to CPU-Z Scan http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1159579

The computer feels sluggish. I just upgraded from a single core P4 3.00ghz, 2 gigs of ddr2 ram, 150meg harddrive, to this after 5 years.

Are my expectations to high?

I ordered the computer overlocked as the standard timing with that cpu ordered was 2.80, and when it arrived it was at 2.80 so a guy at alienware talked me through overclocking it on the phone, did I perhaps miss a setting? Is the memory timing right.

When I described it to a friend he said the memory timing seems off. Yet I have no knowledge of how to adjust it, or scaled it, or even understand the data it describes.
12 answers Last reply
More about timing system novice
  1. Hello and welcome to the forums :)
    Well it looks a decent system too me,can you explain more about sluggish ? i mean is it sluggish in windows or games or other things ?
    Also although i think you already have done this but just to make sure,have you updated your windows 7 score ?
  2. It feels like there is just quite a bit of lag in bootup, as well as starting applications.

I am concerned abou the ram timing. I'm not sure what the DRAM timing should be with my memory. Several people have commented that it seems a bit slow. But I'm not sure how to respond to that.
  3. I think they are low because your CPU is OC'd and for OC'ng a CPU sometimes you can lower the RAM MHz and raise the timings.