Sign in with
Your question

What type of slot is this and what is it used for?

Last response: in Motherboards
May 1, 2010 10:12:10 AM

hey this is my first time using tomshardware so be nice :D 
anyway about a month ago we had a power surge which fried the motherboards of our computers that were in use at the time. in the mean time my family has had to make use of a 15(ish) year old computer that struggles with just one window open at a time...
so i was thinking about putting a second hand video card in it to speed it up a fraction as at the moment it is only using its 8mb onboard chip. i had a look at the mother board and there was a couple of the usual pci slots plus another black slot underneath that i wasnt sure of.

so im wondering what exactly is this slot and what is it used for??
is it for video cards etc, and if so would it be better to buy a video card for this slot or a pci slot?

heres a pic of the motherboard i found on google. (sorry about the quality)
the MB's model number is VP4-686A if this helps?

(its the black slot underneath the pci slots)

More about : type slot

a b V Motherboard
a b U Graphics card
May 1, 2010 10:28:24 AM

That slot is an ISA slot. It extremely old. In 1997 (more or less) you could find some sound cards (Sound blaster AWE) for that slot . Nowadays, there is not any ISA card available. Just forget it.
m
l
a b V Motherboard
a b U Graphics card
May 1, 2010 10:35:34 AM

Well, the closest thing it resembles is an AGP 3.3V port. I don't think you'd be able to find any AGP 3.3V cards - besides, upgrading the CPU would show a greater performance boost.

Edit: Got served by Chinaski. Least I know what it is now... :D 
m
l
Related resources
May 1, 2010 10:49:39 AM