Sign in with
Your question

Did my M3A79-T Deluxe motherboard fail?

Last response: in Motherboards
May 2, 2010 1:58:33 AM

I'm a brand new PC builder. Long story short, I plugged things into random places (the speaker, the PowerSW and stuff) and booted and I heard two small explosions in my case.

I properly connected everything today after reading the manual. Here's the situation.

1)PSU used to power up, and all the fans in the PC used to power up until I removed my video card
2)i fixed that by removing my video card.

If I press the power button, nothing works. I removed the PowerSW from the motherboard and used a metal conductor to connect the pins, but nothing happened. On my motherboard, there's two small lights. A power and a reset, and they're both lighted up. I tried pressing either of those but NOTHING happens. I disconnected everything but the motherboard power connector (the big one + the 4 block) and the two 4 blocks for the CPU power. Still doesn't work.

This is driving me nuts. I finally upgraded from a Pentium 4 and was very excited, and this happens...Can anyone tell me if the motherboard is busted?
a b V Motherboard
May 2, 2010 3:47:21 AM

Welcome to THG Diamons.

Open your manual to page 2-20 and you will see the placement of the pins to clear the CMOS, they call it CLRTC. Move the little blue pin cover from left to right (pins 1 and 2 over to pins 2 and 3) for 10 seconds or so. Then try powering up.
If it's still a no go, turn to page 2-33 where you will find the "System panel connector". In the diagram you will see Panel, the 2 connections labeled PWRSW and RESET they may need to be flipped over, this was the case for me.

It should fire-up now. After you get it up and running, with the side-case off stick you ear close to listen for any hissing or high pitched squealing, just to make sure you didn't blow any capacitors.
m
l
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
May 2, 2010 9:50:00 AM