[SOLVED] To Mac or not to Mac? And which Mac?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blind_masseur

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2007
Hey there. I've been a fairly advanced PC user for some 10 years now, and as the times have changed I've been less involved with computers in terms of everything I use to use them for (i.e., gaming, programming, modding, socializing). For the most part I only use the computer for looking stuff up on the internet and obtaining media. Also for programs like guitar pro to learn guitar and bass, etc. Over the next year or two I want to start getting into recording my own stuff and maybe doing some video editing and such.

For my job I work as an Audio/Video technician doing event productions, mostly corporate but we do festivals and stuff too sometimes. I could see myself need to do some video editing as I get more into the directing side of things. Everyone has been telling me that when it comes to any kind of multimedia applications that Macs are the thing to use.

I was wondering if it is a good idea to make my next system a Mac or a PC? I'm looking for something portable so I'm probably going to get a laptop. And if I should get a Mac, what are my options in terms of Mac laptops and do you guys have any advice?

Thanks, Steve.

Solution
Hi Steve,

My household consists of both a PC and Macbook Pro and I have worked in IT support for both.

First, your price range for a laptop capable of video editing is closer to $1000 PC and $1800 mac. You can go higher, but don't really need to for a casual video editor. Any decently powered laptop (i5 or higher, with a real graphics card) should handle it. Dont get the 13 inch macbook-- the 320m graphics are integrated--the 330m is much better.

Your basic decision is one of price and personal preference.