Your question

Oil Cooled computer, in a water bath

Tags:
  • Water Cooling
  • Computer
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
March 14, 2012 12:01:32 AM

Hello, I was trying to find the best place for this, and this category seems closest to what I need.

I am a computer instructor at a career college. I am planning a project for my students, and wanted to see if there were any major pitfalls to this that I was not seeing.

I am planning to build an oil cooled computer, in an acrylic enclosure. It will have an external radiator (leaning toward a car radiator) with fan cooling for the radiator. I know that the major concern for most of the people that have built one of these has been the temp of the oil. I am planning to take this project one major step forward from every other design I have seen, and submerge the system case in a 55 Gallon aquarium.

OK, so my main question to you all is, does anyone have any idea how much cooling effect the water will have on the oil. I am using a 48x12x22 in aquarium, so the aquarium has a lot of water surface area, and what I have not been able to figure out is if this will provide substantial cooling effect. I am intending to have fish in the aquarium, and am concerned the oil will still manage to heat the overall aquarium up to an unacceptable level for the fish.