New build, Nice drives, RAID performance terrible

Zamaster

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2011
Hello! So I just built a brand new PC, i7-2600k clocked at 4.6, 16 gb of g. skill ram, 2310 at 10-10-10-28, Radeon 6950 clocked to 800 mhz, memory - 1300 mhz. Motherboard is ASRock P67 Extreme 4, win 7 ultimate.

I bought two WD Caviar Black 7200rpm hard drives, plugged them into to the intel sata III ports and through the Intel boot up, disk manager put them in RAID 1. The idea was to get a really secure, large long term storage solution (I'm an audio producer, so I do a little gaming but a lot of work in various DAW programs, hence all the RAM) that was also quick, since I've heard RAID 1 offers a nice performance boost on startup and a slight performance boost in software with the double-disk security.

At any rate, I fire it up, and w7 loads reaaaalllly slow. I get to the welcome screen after staring at black for a minute and then once my password is in, it reaches the desktop reallllly slow. I right click? menu comes up reallllly slow etc etc... I ran passmark, I got amazing CPU and RAM scores, Hard Drive score was comically low, like 80% slower than baseline. My harddrive win experience score is 5.9 (though it performs worse than this) which is the same as my 5400rpm caviar BLUE laptop drive. This can't be right. What do you guys think (I'm on the PC right now)? Thank you!

Solution
What SATA ports are you using for your raid set up, Hopefully it's the Intel ports, not the marvel ports.
If Intel ports, then are you using the Latest Intel RST driver (Ver 10.6). If you did not update the intel driver a windows update may have and that upped the performance. But verify that you are using ver 10.6 RST driver.