Sign in with
Your question
Solved

BSOD - Memory related? Solutions?

Last response: in Memory
May 4, 2010 2:28:41 PM

Hello all!
To make a long story short, I was starting to get BSOD awhile ago, they wasn't so frequent so I acually didn't care so much about them then /shame. Well it came to a point when they occoured daily and then later when I started Windows explorer.exe stopped working and couldn't be restarted. I'm no pro at computers but I thought it was my HDD messing up and since I was anyway thinking about getting a new one I bought one and did a fresh Windows install on it. Same day I started to get BSOD again =/ Now I was paying attention to what it said: REFERENCE_BY_POINTER, IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL and one more which I don't remember.

Now I don't want to boot my system. When I was googling on the error codes I came to the conclusion it was either a bad driver or the RAM, and since it was a fresh install there shouldn't be a bad driver I figure so it must be the RAM?

I also was reading that the memory I use is sold as factory overclocked. When I went to my BIOS I saw that DRAM Voltage is set to 1.968V, shouldn't that be 1.8V to be stable or how does it work? I don't really know much about how to change stuff in BIOS so I didn't want to change anything before asking first.

Here is my system spec:
CPU: Core2 Duo E6850
MB: Asus Maximus Formula
RAM: Crucial 4x1GB PC2-8500 CL5 (2 of those got part no. BL12864AL1065 and 2 with part no. BL12864AL106A)
GPU: Asus EN8800GT/G/HTDP/512M/A

I could probably get the minidumps if I boot up my computer if they are really needed.

Really hope to get some good solutions to this, can it be fixed or do I need to buy new RAM? Or maybe this isn't even memory related? Please help :) 
May 4, 2010 6:00:59 PM

im not sure of your RAM's exact spec but 1.968v seems pretty high. I always hear not to go over 1.65 but you should look up your exacts
m
l
May 4, 2010 6:01:25 PM