New Build (Possible) PSU Issue?

morellomre

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2006
Just completed my first build this weekend. I got over 1st time jitters and didnt hit any real snags during assembly. Boot up and OS install went fine. Was able to put in my first long session (4 hours) with the build yesterday and didnt run into any problems. I left it on over night for the first time and when i woke up it was off. When i came home i powered up to check out what was wrong, after booting up I couldnt tell what went wrong (im a noob) so i went back to normal. After 10 mins of nothing special (just itunes + web browsing) power cut out. I switched a lamp onto the same power strip and powered up again to see if maybe i was pulling too much power and it was a surge. This time after maybe 3 mins the power cut again - and no surge. I'm new to self built so i have no real clue what the problem could be, could anyone help?

I mentally ruled out too little power for too big a system because my GPU is only a ATI 4670 and my PSU is a Antec Basiq Plus 550 Watt.

morellomre

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2006
i popped the case open and checked the connections to make sure they were tight. when checking i thought i heard a slight click and thought that might have solved it. powered back up but after 20 - 30 mins of web surfing power cut out again.

have a 24 pin and 4 pin connected to the mobo.

morellomre

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2006
OK, I tried sticking my old PSU into my new build. It's an off brand, but 400W so it should work fine to see if the PSU is the problem. Much to my dissappointment the power cut about 10 minutes into the test, again with just general computing.

I think that crosses off 'defective PSU' from the top of the list. Seeing as how im a noob with this stuff, and that was the ONLY thing on my list, does anyone else have any suggestions? Your help would be greatly appreciated..getting mighty frustrated here.