Looking for upgrade advice

grandpamasaki

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2009
I'm looking for some advice about upgrading my system. I've been building PCs for a few years now, but I'm not terribly knowledgeable and kind of just figure things out as I go. Last year I put together my first gaming-capable computer using recycled and new parts. It's been running fine, but with the holidays coming up (and some potentially awesome sales) I've been wondering if it might benefit me to upgrade some of my components.

My machine is primarily used for gaming, but my goal has never been to be on the high end of the spectrum. While running games at max settings is always nice, I'm comfortable with being somewhere in the middle if it avoids burning a hole in my pocket.

This is my first time posting so forgive me if some of my specs aren't clear.

IN9 32X-MAX 680i
e4300 Core 2 Duo 1.8GHz (OC'd to 3.0)
A-DATA 2x2GB DDR2 800
Zotac 8800GT 512MB 700MHz
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 750W

I game on a 19" monitor at 1440x900

Just curious if anyone sees any blatant room for improvement, or any obvious reason to upgrade any of my components. I'll be off to live in Europe soon, and the euro is a killer for all tech related items, so if there's an upgrade worth making I'd rather do it before I'm over there.

Thanks!

Solution
I'd buy a new monitor and just rebuild with new mobo, cpu, ram and GPU later down the road. A 8800gt will power games at 1920x1080 at medium to high settings.

grandpamasaki

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2009

Thanks for the reply! That was one of the options I was looking at; however I was thinking maybe the 4870 based off the Graphic's Card Hierarchy Chart on this site, simply because it's 3 tiers up form my own (I do everything by the book, lol). Would that be worth the extra $$ over the 4850?

mortonww

Distinguished
May 27, 2009