Tags:
  • Chipsets
  • BIOS
  • Motherboards
Last response: in Motherboards
a c 229 V Motherboard
May 4, 2010 8:09:59 PM

Greetings,

Recently, I updated the BIOS of my Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P motherboard based system to the latest version in anticipation of installing a new Phenom X6 CPU (arrives today). All went well until I restarted the system (Qflash indicated successful upgrade).

When the system restarted (Win7 x64 Ult), the on-board Realtek based network adapter, which had worked under the previous BIOS, could not "see" the network. After messing with it for about an hour, I simply deactivated the device in the BIOS and uninstalled the drivers, while installing a discrete NIC.

I am a VERY experienced PC builder and tech and I have never experienced this before. Any ideas beyond checking BIOS settings and re-installing drivers (did all that)?

Have a HOOAH day!!!

v/r
JAE

More about : updating bios breaks board nic

Best solution

a b V Motherboard
May 4, 2010 8:57:00 PM

The Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P. Perhaps the finest AM2+ board ever made. :) 

Did the Operating system come from another machine? I have only seen this behavior in a windows install that came from another machine without a repair install. It worked fine for more than a year and then the NIC started acting up. Nothing fixed it except a OS reinstall.

So I would boot off another OS somehow. New hard drive or bood cd like Linux or BART and see if your issue is OS or hardware.

If you get it working with another os source, then its likely the os so try a repair install.

If you cant get it to work with another OS source, try reflashing the old bios and see if their is a bug in the new F10a bios. They just release it, so it may be a bug that slipped past Gigabyte.

Another possibility is the NIC just took a dive on you. But I dont think thats likely.

I
a c 229 V Motherboard
May 4, 2010 11:56:24 PM