Flap

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2011
Hi guys, i was wondering which is considered, or is near by, being the most realible HD in a long term. I would probably use that to backup data on it and then disconnect it to keep it safe.

What would u suggest?

Thanks =)

Solution
WD 3TB's are not that bad with compatible hardware, but some other I have seen ... had problems. Not quite worked out yet.

If u just unplug them after back up, cheapest are just fine.

Make sure u scan the drives for errors before u put back up on it!

Flap

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2011
I specify that i need to backup more than 10TB of data twice, because i can't afford to lose data at all, since i'm a photographer and i need to save it at least for 5-6 years!

Flap

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2011
Of course not. I plan to back it up on 10 (2tb each) or even 20 (1tb each) hard drives. I decided that the best way to back it up is to backup the data on each drive until it's full, then disconnect it and put it away until i need it. In this sense, which would be the one lasting the most without getting broken?
And how often should i switch it on to keep it working?

I know, but its available all the time and I think the hardware will not fail. I myself, a photographer, I have now 6TB of unprocessed photos so I have it with backed up on about 16 drives. I am feeling his pain.

All WD drives, but I just got 2TB Seagate, because I could not wait and local Fry's had non, in Phoenix, AZ. So far good.

I feel your pain as well, I worked with satellite imagery but not anymore (luckily that part of the research is finished for my project).

The internet infrastructure is falling behind our needs. I have no idea when I can get gigabit internet connection. My current speed for upload is about 1Mbps so it will take me about 7 months of continuous upload to backup my main 2TB drive. I don't have the infrastructure, so even if I want to, I will have to wait a long time before I can use that service.