Solved

Graphics Card on a Budget

Hello All!
I have been a PC Tech for about 6 years now, and have used this forum numerous times for answers. The community here seems great, and that is why I chose this forum to ask my question.

In my "Gaming PC" (or sorry excuse thereof), my 256mb DDR2 GeForce 8800 GT just died. Back in my day, I kept up with videos cards rather well, but now with a family and full-time job, I have very little time to make heads or tails of anything. I work as a tech for a university, so a GPU fell off of my list of "things I need to know."

I have a pretty set budget of about $50, and I need a new gaming card. I know for that amount of money my choices are slim, but I want to hear the community's advice. I would rather stay with nVidia if possible, but if an ATI card fits the bill, then that is the direction I will go.

There are two things that are currently important to me. I want to be able to play next-gen games on the PC on medium settings (Specifically Dragon Age: Origins - not next gen, but close enough). I also use the Unreal Development Kit and Unity3D for game development part-time, so the card will need to be able to handle those.

One last thing, my power supply is 375w.

Thanks - and sorry about the long post.

-Jacob
12 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about graphics card budget
  1. @HibyPrime - Thanks for the quick response. I looked over the specs of that card and they indeed seem to be what I am after. One thing I noticed, however, is that this card requires a PCI-E 2.0 slot, and I have a 1.1a slot on my XPS 410. I have read that 2.0 cards are backwards compatible, but should I expect to run into any problems?
  2. I could actually afford this card as well, but I am not sure my power supply could handle it - what do you guys think?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102719R
  3. No you wont run into any problems, they are fully backward compatible.