Sign in with
Your question

Windows Crashing , Probably because of GPU

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 13, 2009 11:29:44 AM

My problem is this:
In the last couple of days I started playing Dragon Age (great game btw) , and while I was playing the game froze and I saw glitched pixels (green , red etc) and the PC restarted.
I was surprised to see that even on boot , the pixels remained , so I shut my PC down for a while and then turned it back on ,
at which point the glitched pixels were gone.
After that event , the same thing started happening to me over and over in all games , and also while being on the desktop , with the monitor turning black and then returning to normal , at which point I noticed this message:

Subsequently , I tried using RivaTuner to force the clocks at stock (although they were already at stock) and forcing the fan to 80% with no success on solving the crash.

Here are my PC specs:

E8500 @ 3.5 GHz
9800GTX @ Stock , 195.39
DDRII 4GB @ 1000 Mhz , 5-5-5-15
GA-EP35 @ FSB 500

P.S I also tried playing games without OC'ing , but the crash still occured.
P.S.S I tried using the 191.07 WHQL certified driver , but to no success.

Thanks in advance for all help.

More about : windows crashing gpu

November 13, 2009 11:47:09 AM

Rivatuner might be the culprit itself. Try uninstalling Rivatuner and perhaps any other GPU program and see if the same thing still occurs.
m
l
November 13, 2009 11:50:35 AM

I installed RivaTuner after the first crash to try and fix it , so I'm guessing it's not it , but I'll try.
m
l
Related resources
November 13, 2009 11:57:16 AM

Completely uninstall your driver and use either the new beta drivers or a previous driver. See if that helps.
m
l
November 13, 2009 12:22:12 PM

Clean your card, your case, blow out all the dust. Check your temps, take the side off and run it, blow air into open side of case
m
l
November 13, 2009 12:30:44 PM

What max temps should I be looking for?