[ HELP ] 230mm Fan Conundrum :P

I have a 200/230mm CoolerMaster case-fan ( I think its 200mm, But DO NOT count me on it, it shouldn't matter either way, Size isn't the relevant issue ). My microATX EVGA Motherboard has 1 4-Pin CPU_FAN Connection ( Which is obviously being utilized :P ) + 1 3-Pin CHASSIS_FAN Connection. That's just backround information I felt that someone might need, so here's my real issue:

- Whenever I connect the 3-Pin Header from the FAN Into the 3-Pin CHASSIS_FAN Connection on the MB The fan spins BUT: The fan spins SUPER SLOW, I can literally put my index finger on the fan blades and it would stop! I took the fan from a CM HAF 922 Case that I bought about a year ago. So I guess what I'm really asking is: Whats going wrong? Is it just that the CHASSIS_FAN Header is "defective", Am I not plugging it on correctly?, Is the fan dead?, I don't know how to get it to move remotely quick enough to move ANY air. It's not really a MUST have thing for my system, I already have PLENTY of cooling ( G.Skill 2x40mm fan Memory-cooler, Heatsink, PSU Fan ( Which is blowing the air up towards the bottom of my board, adding to the airflow :D ) and 1 120mm. But I would hate to see a huge, new, and potentially useful fan go to waste!

Also, for some reason there's a 2-pin connection coming from the fan...What is that? Is it to power the LED's on the fan? or what? ^.^

NOTE: Sorry If i'm a little "long-winded", I just want to include enough information so I can get help quickly and efficiently from other forumer's :)

---- PICTURES OF WHAT I'M REFERRING TO ( FOR THE VISUAL TYPE ) ---

ANY AND ALL RESPONSES OR HELP IS APPRECIATED GREATLY!

- Grady
2 answers Last reply
More about 230mm conundrum
  1. if you get the program speedfan, you can monitor speeds, i would say if its spinning below 500rpm (based on a quick look at a 200mm fan :P) then there may be an issue