Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking a 2500k 4.5 vcore problem

Last response: in Overclocking
March 17, 2012 8:56:35 PM

Hi today I decided to Overclock ny i5 2500k to 4.5 Ghz. I am fairly new to overclocking so I followed this guide , (I have a Gigabyte P67A-D3-B3 so a similar model to the one in the guide) I followed the guide exactly until it came to changing the vcore when I suddenly realized that there was no setting to change the vcore. After some research I found out that the board automatically changes the vcore so I went ahead with the overclock and booted into windows, where I ran a few load tests which all did very well with a temperature of 35 at idol and 65 at load the only thing I found strange was that the vcore voltage in cpuz was not changing and was staying at 1.116 V that can not be right can it ? I am also worried that the motherboard might make the vcore to high and damage the cpu is that possible ?

Thx in advance
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
March 17, 2012 11:12:13 PM

I have experienced that CPU-Z will become unresponsive while stress testing. Open Hardware Monitor. That should let you know.

Also, There should be a setting with pretty much any board that allows you to change voltage. Go into the BIOS and there should be some Vcore options. There is probably a place where it says auto Vcore, but you should be able to change that to offset or fixed/manual.
March 18, 2012 11:23:51 AM

there is defiantly no setting in bios to change the vcore I have searched everywhere I can however the vcore voltage in power management but its no use for stress tests, there is however a Dynamic Vcore (DVID) option but I have no idea what that is ? I have also tried to use hardware monitor as yous suggested but the vcore in that stays the same to :/ 
Related resources
a b à CPUs
March 18, 2012 11:33:09 AM