$1000ish workhorse - What would you do?

kuni

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2009
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Thanksgiving
BUDGET RANGE:$600-$1200, but willing to push it if it's going to be worth it.
SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT:Crunching massive spreadsheets in Excel 2007
PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Monitor, speakers, OS (if XP Pro is good enough)
PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS:Newegg, anyone good and cheap.
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN:USA
PARTS PREFERENCES: None
OVERCLOCKING: No
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No
MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1200)
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:I want the case to be easy to work on, quiet, well-built and decent looking. Nothing that looks like Megatron. Also, I've never built a system before.

I've been asking and I'm still trying to figure out what's going to make this machine a SCREAMER for Excel. Can XP or Excel use more than 2 or 3 gigs of ram? Will XP Professional hold me back from a huge Windows 7 speed and memory advantage? Should I get Ultimate? I'm all for overbuilding, but seeing as how this machine will have a single purpose, what's the sweet spot?

I know I could save a few hundred on an i5 system, but if a 920 will be *that* much better, I'm all for it. I ran my spreadsheet on a Core 2 Quad (2.66 8300) and it was half as fast as my Core 2 Duo (2.4). Weird.

Anyway, would love to see what you guys would do!

Thanks!

kuni

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2009
Been looking at this CPU comparo for help:
http://www.hardware.info/en-US/productdb/compareproducts/bGRkapiTmJXKY8g,bGhkapiZmJjKYMg,bGlka5iamJfKacg,bGlka5iamJfKaMg,bGZka5iYmJTKaMg,!/

Look at this build. Inexpensive quad core Athlon for a really inexpensive build. Maybe with the sonata case as mentioned instead of the gaming case.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/274210-31-parts-homebuilt-bargain