System suddenly takes ages to boot ! Need Help !

_BRI_

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2009
Hi you guys... I'm a real amateur here so i'd appreciate your help. I decided to build a budget system on my own.
I bought a AMD athlon ii 245+ asus m4a78-em + kingston ddr2 800 2/2gb + hdd wd 500gb sata 7200rpm.

The hdd was not available at the time I made the purchase so I built the system with 2 old pata hdd's. A wd 200gb and a samsung 30gb. As ide master and slave I installed winxp sp3 and everyting was doing fine.

Today the new hdd was delivered to me by mail and so I decided to get the samsung 30hdd out of the system because it was making funny noises and I guess its about to crack. So I would leave the pata 200gb alone and the new sata 500gb.

But after removing that hdd the system suddenly takes ages to boot. I already cleared cmos suspecting a problem there. But it did not solve anything.

Can you guys help me I don't have a clue of what could be going on!

Solution
Two recommendations...

First... Try taking the pata 200GB off of Master setting and placing it on Normal and see what it does. Having the hard drive pins in Master may be causing it to slow down since there is no slave drive... Maybe??

Second... I would do a clean install with the SATA hard drive and disconnect the PATA and see if that speeds things up.

I don't see who the BIOS would be the issue since you were running fine with two.

tecmo34

Administrator
Which one is your boot drive? The new Sata or the old Pata? Also, what was the 30GB hard drive before you removed it. Did you reset your boot sequence after clearing the CMOS because it could be trying to boot first off the one that doesn't have the OS.

_BRI_

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2009