Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Virtual PC

Last response: in Windows 7
October 9, 2011 12:12:22 AM

I everyone, thanks in advance for your answer. I'm a new builder looking for a good multitask/game performing build. There is no budget limitation since I'm making little money from the web with my PC,so the investment is worth the little extra cost if it allow me to push this a little more.

Actually I run 1 Vmware and would like to run at least two and maybe more if I can (4 depending on the build) wile playing the latest game on my hdtv with good screen setting. (skyrim, Battlefield 3, Diablo 3) and do so without turning anything off.
(if it's possible)

I was looking at;
I7 2600k,
16gb Corsair vengeance 1600 CL8 or 9 (2gb each vmware),
ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z,
SSD caching,
A Good GTX 580 (SLI if needed) don't know if VM will affect performance of GPUs,
Maybe a sound card to plug my AudioEngine speakers in.

Question:

Will the virtual PC affect game performance (CPU limitation of some sort)?
Does the GPU performance will be affected by the virtual pc?
did I need something more powerful then what I'm looking at?
Is it only possible to run 4 virtual machine and play high demanding games?
Is it better to make two different computer for each purpose (vmware and gaming)
etc...

Thanks and sorry for my poor English

More about : virtual

Best solution

a c 209 $ Windows 7
October 9, 2011 12:57:23 AM

If you're running the game INSIDE a virtual machine, then performance will be affected because of the virtualization of the display interface.

If you're running the game on the host OS itself, then performance should only be affected if the game is memory-limited or if the CPUs / disks are busy due to VM activity.
October 9, 2011 1:23:35 AM

sminlal said:
If you're running the game INSIDE a virtual machine, then performance will be affected because of the virtualization of the display interface.