RAM settings in BIOS to get 6 sticks stable (and scary burning smell)

avianrand

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2010
See my member config or the very bottom of this post for my setup.

I've only running with 3 sticks of RAM because I could not get all 6 to run stable with Prime95 for more than an hour or so. I'm very new to any BIOS tweaking and was going to wait to do any of that until I had a chance to learn. I found out after I started setting things up (per bilbat) that 3 sticks is usually stable out of the box but 6 usually isn't and it requires some tweaking. So I was having trouble (bilbat tried to help before, see note below) and figured I'd call on tech support at Gigabyte. They have been very helpful when I call them so I figured I'd try with this issue. It seemed like it should be a simple matter for them to be able to tell me how to get 6 sticks running stable on their board that is designed to do this. It was NOT a good idea.

The specs on my RAM are DDR1333, 7-7-7-20, 1.65v

Here are my BIOS settings for the CPU and RAM:

BIOS%20MIT%20Page%201.JPG

BIOS%20MIT%20Page%202.JPG

BIOS%20MIT%20Page%203%20Marked%20Up.JPG

(this is currently set to auto but I'm showing what I tried below)

And here are my CPU Tweaker settings:

CPU%20Tweaker%20Readings.jpg

The tech person recommended setting the DRAM voltage from auto to 1.64 to come closer to the specs on the RAM. I was a bit uneasy about this as I am not clear about which voltage is which for RAM. But the tech seemed very confident about this so that's what I did.