Best RAM for Phenom II 965 + Asus M4A89GTD PRO

Tangerine123

Distinguished
May 6, 2010
Hey guys! ...and girls if there are any :)

I am trying to upgrade my PC and biggest problem so far is to find memory which would give the best performance/price ratio for my system.

These are the parts I am planning to buy:

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition (125w version)
Motherboard: Asus M4A89GTD PRO
GPU: Sapphire ATI Radeon 5770 HD 1GB (Vapor-X)

I have a decent PSU from my previous build - Zalman - 460-APS (460w) which I think still would be good.

I would like to spend about 100 pounds on a memory kit, but I am not that good with determining which would be the cheapest and best investment with the greatest relative performance and also would be good from longevity point of view.

The 2 RAM's I kind of a liked were

G-Skill 4GB 1600MHz PC12800 DDR3 NQ Series CAS 9 Kit (about 100-110 pounds)
Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit (110 pounds)

But I still don't know if that wouldn't be an overkill. Maybe I need to go for a budget modules?
As I am a gamer as well, I would still need something that's good for gaming performance, but if the improvement is minimal for a bigger increase in price, I would rather prefer the cheapest one.

I also would like to know if it would be better to get 4 or 6GB of RAM. Does the increase from 4GB plays a big role in gaming and power applications like Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign?

I will value and appreciate everyone's opinions and suggestions about RAM and this rig.

Thank you!

jbakerlent

Distinguished