Data HDD not working since re-install...

sosumi

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2011
Hi all,
I'm a newbie at posting here, but a frequent reader. I've searched all over the 'net, but can't find an answer to my specific problem...you guys might know "what's up"!
My home-built system had: C,D,E,F,G drives: 160GB Samsung with OS and apps (Win7 pro 32-bit); generic CD/DVD; 320GB Hitachi (Data) PLUS; 2 x 1TB drives, installed months ago, formatted NTFS, but unused. A month ago, I moved a few Gigs of data—all my photos, docs, music, etc, from E: to to G: and used F: for system back-ups. I bought another new, 1TB drive a couple of weeks ago, but did not connect it to the system at the time. Everything was working beautifully.
A few days ago, I was 'forced' to abandon my original OS drive (which I'd been planning to clone to a larger, newer drive for a couple of weeks now, anyway) and to do clean install onto a different drive…BUT ( because of a long story...Win Mem Diag Tool!) my OS drive became unbootable, despite having rescue disks, Win7 DVDs, etc.
I unhooked the 160GB OS drive and installed the brand-new, un-formatted 1TB drive on the same SATA cables as the original C: drive, hoping to install Win 7 there. The install seemed to work OK, but was unbootable. Second try, I installed Win7 to the older (now empty) 320GB drive and everything was hunky-dory. That is, until I tried to access my data. Situation now: Newest drive has ZERO on it; other drive has (inaccessible) backups from about 9 Sept and the 1TB ‘DATA drive’ is now recognized as “8.00GB unallocated.” Nothing that I’ve tried works—I always get I/O error messages. I haven’t yet tried unplugging all of the drives and randomly attaching them the the MoBo SATA slots. Would it help?