Sign in with
Your question

Need help with psu

Last response: in Components
January 24, 2010 6:24:14 AM

hello, i just bought a geforce 9800 gt and noticed i wasnt getting the fps i should be (10-20fps) around alot of people. so i was told that i should upgrade my psu, i purchased a thermaltake 550w psu and installed it. still getting the same fps, and im wondering that the gfx card minimum power requirements is 400watts and 12v @ 26amps. the psu i bought has dual 12v @ 17amps. shouldnt that somewhat be an improvement? im new to all of this and dont really understand much about the power supply stuff and any info would be greatly appreciated :) 

More about : psu

a b ) Power supply
January 24, 2010 6:49:32 AM

That was a waste. Your power supply has nothing to do with the performance of your computer with the exception that if it does not provide enough power at any given time and system load, your computer will randomly shut down.

two 12V rails at 17A each is the same as one 12V rail at 34A. The +12V rail provides power to the CPU and graphics card among other things that use virtually no power. The power provided to these components is found by P=EI or power =voltage x amperage. so in the case of your older power supply, 12V*26A=312W. But power supplies are inefficient. 80% efficiency is common so 312W*80%=250W. So you would have about 250W to run a 9800GT and whatever CPU you have. However, like I said, your computer will randomly shut down or reboot if not enough power is being supplied.

Now that you know your power supply does not affect performance, we'd be willing to help you determine your problem if you share your system spec, especially your CPU aswell as the games you are playing, the resolution and settings you play them at.
January 24, 2010 8:28:03 AM