My old 7800 gs (agp) is going kaput.... what now??

killjoy1

Distinguished
Nov 15, 2009
Hi guys, Im new to Toms hardware.

Im hoping I can get some advice with my problem. I've been out of the loop as far as the new tech is concerned, (built my first and last PC 6 years ago, upgraded 2 years ago) so I figured I'd better talk to some people who are in the know before I make some stupid decisions.

my specs

MB: MSI K9MMV (AM2, 2 slots DDR2, AGP 8X, 1000Mhz FSB, Sata and IDE support, 10/100 LAN)
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ socket AM2 CPU (with TR2/RI thermal take fan)
RAM: 2x 1GB Corsiar DDR2
DD: CompUSA DVD/CD
HDD: IDE Maxtor 40GB 7200rpm
External Drive: Maxtor One-Touch 4 Mini 250MB
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 7800gs AGP 256 MB
Case: ATX (1 side fan)

I suspected that my 7800gs agp card was breaking down, since Im getting bad freezes and lockups while playing Company of Heroes, Left 4 Dead and ArmA (my favorite games).

I replaced my CPU, MB and RAM 1 year ago (see specs) and got an external drive to store my games, so I figured those parts arent contributing to the problem since they are pretty new.

I had to wipe my drive and re-install my XP home OS 2 months ago, because at that time suddenly most everything was lagging and running totally crap, (I suspected virus since my anti-virus updates expired 6 months ago) but since reinstalling the OS, Ive had no problems whatsoever, aside from the games freezing and crashing.

I've always kept up with the lastest drivers but I checked again to make sure that wasnt the issue, so they were/are up to date. Ive also got the AMD dual-core optimization driver for the CPU

I ran a video card memory test that pretty much confirmed my suspicions... heres a screenshot.. look how many errors!

videocardmemorytestresults.jpg

Heres also a screenshot of my temperatures with with the PC pretty much idling (no games or apps)

Speedfantemppic.jpg