Two NIC in one Laptop, Trying to utilize Dual band Router

mb2069

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2010
Hello all,

I am knew here and apologize in advance if I cross any forum etiquette lines. I am somewhat techie, but I have very little experience with networking. Here is the situation I am seeking advice on.

Here is the hardware:

Linksys WRT610N Dual Band N Router (2.4GHz/5GHz)
Laptop with onboard 802.11n WLAN mini-card and Linksys WEC6600N Dual-Band Wireless-N ExpressCard
D-Link DNS-323 NAS

What I want to do is make the internal NIC connect to 2.4GHz only and the ExpressCard to only connect to the 5Ghz band. Then I want to do home network file transfers etc. on the low band and keep my internet connections on the high band.

Is any of that even possible?

Thanks

mb2069

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2010
Care to elaborate on that?? Alternatives... Aren't there things that can be done with routing tables...ip to ip...DHCP reservation/mac address...metrics etc...

It's possible, but perhaps not in the way you want, certainly not as easy as it may appear, and debatable as to whether it’s worth the effort give the rather questionable benefits (but that’s ultimately your call).

You have two network connections established from the same machine, each using a different wireless band, and both connected to the same router. Since each is using the same DHCP server, each will be configured identically except for their respective IP addresses (same subnet, same gateway IP, same dns servers(s)). For this discussion, let’s assume that subnet is 192.168.1.x.

Windows will not allow you to pick and choose network connections on a per application basis. All you can do when using multiple network adapters is prioritize them (see Network Connections->Advanced->Advanced Settings). Whichever one is listed first will be used EXCLUSIVELY since any resource (computer, NAS, the Internet) is equally accessible via either network connection. In effect, the other network connection goes unused.