Card not being recognized by PC

chomans91

Distinguished
Nov 15, 2009
Hey guys, this is my first time posting on here. Looks like a neat forum! Anyway, I bought a GeForce 9800 GT card recently, and assembled it into my pc. Before I installed it, I went to device manager and disabled/uninstalled the onboard ATI Radeon X1200 card. I used the DVI-to-VGA adapter and got a No Signal screen on my monitor. Then I used the VGA adapter on the back of the PC, which worked.

When I run the NVidia drivers CD and try to install drivers, it says " The Graphics Adapter installed in the system is not compatible with the current set of drivers. I did some research went to the BIOS and made the primary display be PCI e, that didnt work either, the card does not show up in Device manager. Here is my system specs. Basically my computer is not recognizing the card.
(Being detailed so i dont waste your time back and forth :] )

PC Specs
Link to the card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...3-304-_-Product
motherboard: Asus M2A-VM
powersupply is an NZXT PF400. max output 400 watt ( minimum requirement for the card is 400W)
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3 GHz
2 gigs of ram
315Gb's of 469gb hard drive
Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit

Looking forward to getting this running! I am not very experienced in computers, but I'm very interested!

Ok, so you set the primary display to PCI-E (or PEG), but while you were in there, did you see any options for disabling the onboard? Double check in your motherboard manual (should also be on the Asus site if you can't find yours) how to do that and if there are any other steps you have to take. Also, try removing and reinserting the 9800GT. And finally, did the 9800GT require any power connectors? If so, are they firmly attached?