External storage device broken? please help :(

Jet

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2011
Okay so, about 2 days ago i was looking for some pictures on my computer i couldn't find. I plugged my external storage device in (It's a WD smartware passport or something, about 300GB of storage). I type .png into my computer search bar, after 10 minutes i got impatient and just unplugged my passport thing, ever since then when i plug it in it either asks me to;
Format the disk
Or i CAN gain access to it, but only for about 1 minute, and it's very unstable. And then it will disconnect from my computer. For this reason i can't copy any of the files over. I have about 5000 pictures on their, about 20 video clips. Some of these pictures are more "personal" of my girlfriend, if you get what that means. So i don't want to send it into a shop to get fixed. And i can't buy any online software (I'm 16 with no way of spending money online). I'm desperate for help, please anyone :/ I'm not really good with computers so i don't have a clue what to do. All help is greatly appreciated, if you need more details about anything just say. Thank you.

electrontau

Distinguished
Dec 1, 2010
One you NEVER do is to unplug the USB cable without ejecting the USB device. Power is transferred to your hard drive through USB cable. Unfortunately you did. Whatever you do, DO NOT format the drive.

Few things you can try.

- try to connect it to another computer with different OS. You can try to boot Ubuntu from a cd (without installing it) and see if you can access your data. Try on couple different computer/OS combination.