Sign in with
Your question

SSD for O/S and Raid 0 for other stuff

Last response: in Storage
October 3, 2011 6:47:16 PM

Hello,
I am kinda of a noob here.

When i bought my new PC, I wanted my O/S to be on SSD and the rest of my games and programs to be on a RAID 0 setup.(or perhaps a RAID 1) . My previous PC had a SSD for the OS and the boot and shutdown time was great!

However I am wondering if I will be better off using the Intel Smart Response Technology? Anyone can shed some light?

The motherboard i bought is Gigabyte 's GA-Z68XP-UD3.

And to confuse myself a bit more, the motherboard has a mSata connector...which i am told if I were to plug in a SSD in there, i can load the OS from there? So which is really the quickest setup?

I have already bought a 64gb SSD and 2x1TB HDD (7200rpm) as well...

Thanks a lot and regards
Gavin

More about : ssd raid stuff

a c 353 G Storage
October 3, 2011 6:59:48 PM

Best option is to use the SSD as a OS + program disk. STR is half as^% 2nd.

You may use Raid0 for HDDs, Your option. Raid0 on HDDs only improves Sequencial read /write - Only important if working with large files.

If still want to use raid:
Place SSD by itself on Intel SATA III port set bios to Raid (if not using Intel prorts for raid set Bios to AHCI). SSD will work fine with Bios set to Raid (ON INTEL Chipset), it just can not be a member drive of a raid setup.
Install windows 7, after instal complete install latest version of Intel's RST driver (ver 10.6, there is also a F6 driver if needed).
Happy with SSD win7, then power pown, connect your two HDDs and set up raid.

System Should be fat, dumb and Happy
m
l
a c 168 G Storage
October 3, 2011 7:23:39 PM

Good comments from retiredchief^

But, let me ask what you wish to accomplish with raid-0 or raid 1?

Raid-0 has been touted as a performance enhancer.
Sequential benchmarks do look wonderful, but the real world does not seem to deliver the indicated performance benefits for most