zasch

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2009
Hi, I'm new to this forum and I was directed to this section from CPU and Components section, where I posted a question on which processor to choose.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/269783-28-which-processor

So before telling my requirements, let me tell you that I'm not good at understanding technical details. All i want is a good system that gives me no trouble :)

Budget- Moderate (300$ to 500$).
Since its an upgrade, I'll not be going for Monitor, keyboard, Hard disk and stuff.

Purpose- General use, Internet surfing, working on applications such as photoshop, visual studio etc, Gaming (sometimes, but i'm not too keen on gaming)

Video Card- No immediate requirement.

I'm upgrading my computer after 7 years. I want this upgrade to last for a long term. I don't want to upgrade my comp again for at least 5 years from now.

So here are my simple requirements. I just want to change my Processor, motherboard and memory. Considering the above, can you guys suggest what is best?

Hope I haven't violated the forum posting rules.
z

nofun

Distinguished
Nov 5, 2009
First of all:
What sort of case do you have currently? (An exact model number is best, but we NEED to have the form factor)
What sort of Power Supply do you have? (Max wattage, brand, etc?)

The i7 core with hyperthreading is the leanest, meanest processor available right now. Dollar for dollar, I would certainly say that the i7 is worth its cost (and will have better staying power into the future); however, it is a new technology and so carries a higher price tag than the runner-up. Despite its high cost, due to the leaps and bounds it makes over its predecessors, I would suggest an i7 for future-proof office-oriented productivity.

Here's the cost of a great i7 office system:
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P55M-UD2 $99.99
CPU: i7-860 $289.99
RAM: G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1333 $89.99
Video Card (GPU): MSI N8400GS-TD256 GeForce 8400 GS $30.99
-------------------------------------