Your question

Ram timing and basic thoughts

Tags:
  • Memory
  • RAM
  • Product
Last response: in Memory
May 12, 2010 11:50:17 AM

i just have a simple question about RAM.

would someone please explain to me what timing mean in ram like, 7-7-7 24 or whatever.

just started to get involved in computer parts (been working with programs till now) and i just want to get to know the parts better.

so i would like to know what that means and how do you check what the timing on your ram is and its mhz frequency.

this is the pc i have as of now tell me your thoughts. bare in mind that this is my first build

I7 920
G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit
Two Caviar Blacks in raid 0
GTX 280
EVGA Micro ATX X58 SLI/Crossfire
Antec 300
Coolermaster 212 Plus
Corsair 650w

please tell me your thoughts

Thanks again to all

More about : ram timing basic thoughts

a b } Memory
May 12, 2010 12:11:13 PM

RAM timings, aka latencies, is a measure of how long it takes for the memory to relay information back to the CPU. The higher or looser the timings, the worse, as it takes longer for the RAM to relay information to the CPU, and thus, slows down the performance of your PC. Normally the lower the latencies, the more expensive the RAM. Also, tighter/lower memory timings provide a more noticeable performance boost than higher speed RAM.
May 12, 2010 1:53:35 PM

Lmeow said:
RAM timings, aka latencies, is a measure of how long it takes for the memory to relay information back to the CPU. The higher or looser the timings, the worse, as it takes longer for the RAM to relay information to the CPU, and thus, slows down the performance of your PC. Normally the lower the latencies, the more expensive the RAM. Also, tighter/lower memory timings provide a more noticeable performance boost than higher speed RAM.

Thanks for the reply, it really help me understand what it means.