Sign in with
Your question

Upgrade or build new?

Last response: in Systems
November 10, 2009 3:02:46 PM

Hi everyone, I have an alright (for me anyway) pc which has allowed me to play pretty much all the games I've been wanting to play up until now. There are a few games I have been wanting to play such as Dragon Age Origins but my pc hasn't been able to handle it and with my Xbox 360 suddenly breaking, I have decided to stick with pc gaming. I did not build this pc (I have no experience in it but am willing to learn) someone built it for me. It has been mainly my graphics card and CPU that are lacking in the recommended requirements. I'm getting most of the information from Lavalys Everest.

CPU: DualCore AMD Athlon 64 X2, 2700 MHz (13.5 x 200) 5200+
Motherboard: Foxconn 6100K8MA/6100M2MA/6150K8MA/6150K8MD Series / Acer FC51GM
RAM: Corsair Value Select VS2GB667D2 2 GB DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM 1GBULURTXNBC 1 GB DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 4650 (512 MB)
Power Supply: Im not sure about this but I imagine it would be 350?
Monitor: 19" LG something something

Budget - £250. Am I able to get a good CPU and graphics card that is good for gaming that is compatible with my motherboard?

Or should I just sell this and put it towards building a new system?

Thanks for all your help

More about : upgrade build

November 10, 2009 3:05:22 PM

I cant edit my message for some reason but I was wanting to edit it and say the £250 was for the upgrade and I would spend £500 on a new system build.

And that I would also like to be able to play my PS2 and Gamecube emulators at full speed if possible. :) 
a b B Homebuilt system
November 10, 2009 4:54:49 PM