Asus P8Z68-V LE Atx vCore Problem!

jordy1212

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2010
Hey, I'm trying to overclocking and this is my first time (overclocking anything) so i'm not that smart with it. However, Most people say to raise the vCore by 0.005 volts at a time until the system fails under prime95 stress testing. But heres the problem. I have no money, I can't get a new board, and Lets say I raise my vCore on my board (Asus P8z68-V LE) to 1.35v. (it even says that when i reload bios), now i open up CPU ID and HW MONITOR What'da know? Successful overclock, everything works good, nice 4.4Ghz except 1 thing. The damn voltage says 14.2v. Now for some reason if i do it lets say 0.050 volts lower then the board keeps idle votlage at like 0.90 and then it gives 14.2 under stress testing and randomly jumps to 14-14.3 if i raised the CPU voltage (the bios doesn't even say vCore) it says cpu voltage and i set it to 1.35 shouldn't the board lock that voltage? Please help me. I'm ok with my overclock but I want to raise the voltage as low as possible to keep my cpu lasting a long time. Does anybody know what I can do? (Google didn't help) Another person on google said they experience the same thing. Any professionals that might know a setting on the board to fix this?

By some chance if you DO NOT know how to fix it, I have set the options on auto. Right now i'm @ 4.4Ghz and CPU voltage doesn't getmore than 1.38 on turbo for (4.4Ghz) posting this second it's getting 1.03-1.07 volts. Any good for auto settings? and is it normal for the voltages to randomly raise to 1.36-1.38 while playing games and locked at that until i close it? Intel turbo boost shows its running @ 4.4Ghz while its open. And how long will it last? 2 months and break? or what.

850Watts PSU