Mac Pro v/s Normal Workstation

andy55

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2009
Hi,

I'm a motion graphic designer working mainly on after effects CS3. I need to buy a new workstation. Now as 'Mac Pro' too comes with Intel Board & Processors my question is what is the difference between MAC & 'Intel workstation with windows7' -OR- in what ways 'Mac Pro' is better than normal workstation if both have same configuration?

kbits

Distinguished
Apr 9, 2007
Basically there is none, except the BIOS is replaced by EFI in Mac Pro, but that won't affect performance.

So a similar configuration will give you a similar performance. Similar means 2 X latest XEON with HT (so in AE CS4, you will have 16 cores availables including 8 virtual). From my experience though, those cores aren't use effectively most of the time because they sharing the whole system ressources.

I prefer a more balanced configuration with a 920 + HT OCed@4GHz, 12GB ram and SSD drives. The OC really offset most of the advantage a dual Xeon platform might have.

For about the same money as a Mac Pro you can throw in the mix an NVidia Quadro that will accelerate some of the real-time rendering in AE and 3D applications.

LePhuronn

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2007
I concur - unless there is a specific piece of Mac software you need (such as Final Cut) or you simply MUST have OSX, there's no reason to go Mac. Your money will be better spent in building a PC - you can match spec with a Mac and come out a lot cheaper, or match price with a Mac and get a superior system.

Shame you're not using CS4 because I'd strongly recommend the Quadro CX if you were price-matching a Mac.

And if you really like the way Macs look, get a silver Silverstone Fortress FT02 case!

andy55

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2009
Thnx guys for your valuable inputs. For me looks are not yet important..i just need a powerful system with speedy rendering & previews so that i can complete my jobs without a stress. f**k i'm tired of this C2D desktop thing.