High End Quiet PC ~ $1500-$1800

loocid

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2009
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Early Summer 2010

BUDGET RANGE: $1500-1800 after rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: media viewing, gaming, word processing, a/v editing, media streaming across LAN and outside of LAN, data storage/backup, web design, cpu intensive professional applications, web server

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, monitor

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com, amazon.com, pricewatch.com

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA

PARTS PREFERENCES: Mostly Intel (core i7) and ATI (HD) products. Prefer modular power supply. Prefer mid tower if can accommodate internal water cooling system.

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe. All CrossfireX products.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: So I've been saving up for this home built PC for four years now. I'll start buying sometime next May or June. The most important part of this PC other than power is noise reduction so I'll be planning and building around an internal or integrated water-based cooling system. I have done my homework and do prefer expandable water-based cooling over those no-maintenance liquid cooling systems. I have never built one of these before, but do prefer building a water cooler system from scratch over a kit. I will also need the ability to apply cooling blocks for cpu, 2 x ATI HD 1 Gig GPU's, and possibly some hard drives. I will be running a raid 5 with at 3-4 1 gig 7200 rpm hard drives. Any suggestions for what parts to get for the water cooling system?

ibnsina

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2009
Summer 2010 is long time away, a lot of new hardwares would be released prior to then. The parts that are available now may be out of production or outdated by then, so is best re-post this thread in April-May.

loocid

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2009