RandomUnknown

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2009
i just put alittle rig together and i want to know if my old hard drive will work. heres the parts a bought,

MSI 790fx-gd70
PhenomII x4 3.2
Mushkin DDR3 1600
ATI Radeon 5870
AZZA 850w psu
X-Dreamer case

my hard drive is a WD wd6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM

I tried just slapping it all together with the old HD but cant even get a post? everything is compatible right?
also when i tried to boot all the little blue LEDs lit up on the mobo and the HDD LED lights red, and out of all the buttons on the mobo the reset is the only one lit, almost like its telling me something..... lol

oh and BTW its my first build >.<

There is a sticky with the steps for a non-posting system you should follow. 90% of the time following those directions will get your problem solved.

With a new motherboard, you will need to re-install the OS. It wont run windows reliably with the old install. You should be able to get into bios and boot on the CD without a hard drive even installed.

^ +1
It's always good to do a fresh windows install when doing a build. You don't want old drivers conflicting with new ones. The fresh install will clean out all that old garbage that you've forgot was even on the drive.

You've put together a pretty nice system, but I'm not a big fan of that PSU.

Double check the 4/8 pin CPU power is connected. It goes from the PSU to the board, next to the CPU socket.

You have an MSI board, did you connect the led bracket? If yes, it should be displaying a light code. Compare the diagnostic code to your motherboard manual to find where to start.

RandomUnknown

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2009
ok well so far with messin with it ive got it to load window on my old HD, so im gonna go back up all my files i want to save then run my HDDs system recovery to reinstall vista. that should work just fine right? cause i dont want to lose all my s3xy prons if its not gonna help! lol j/k