My Temps are really making me angry!

Frag Mortuus

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2009
Hey Guys,

My temps are driving me crazy. I have a Cooler Master Storm Scout case, an intel i7-920, Coolermaster V8 CPU cooler, Asus P6x58D-Premium, 6Gb DDR3 1600 RAM, 3 Sata HDDs and a 1000W Modular PSU.

Well I WAS getting temps about 29-31C when just browsing the internet and idling and about 45C when playing games. My case has slots for 2 more 120mm fans so I purchased 2 more of Coolermaster's fans that they recommend for the Scout, installed them and low and behold my temps shot up about 10C. WTF. Well after talking to some folks here and on different websites, and after talking to my brother in law who is an engineer that specializes in fluid and air currents, the decision was unanimous that I disturbed the flow of air over the components and that hot air was getting trapped somewhere in the case and that is what is causing my high temps.

Well I removed the extra fans and my temps still have not gone back down, they are at the same highs they were with the fans. Is it normal for temps to go up and stay up like this, even after removing the initial cause? I have only had this rig for about a month or less so i dont think my thermal compound would need redone by now, and all of my fans are working and what not.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

werxen

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2008
Hi, check out these detailed video reviews that explain about the pros and cons of the the case, cpu cooler and use the Tuniq TX-3 thermal compound for best results. so you can get a better idea and make a education decision. go here http://pcwizkidstechtalk.com/index.php/cooler-master-v10.html and watch the video , you'll see that the Scout case is used and no extra fans added for low temps.

Cheers

Holy CRAP this is the second post I went to in a row and saw your ass advertising again. I hope the admins lay the ban hammer down on you since you do not help for crap all you do is spam your website left and right.