In Server 2008 R2: NLB Questions

boggie6868

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2009
Hi Everyone,

I'm trying to build a server box for my house. I installed windows server 2008 R2. I've got everything up and running but I'm having an issue with the NLB.

I've never used NLB before, and thus far I can't seem to get both onboard NICs to work properly. I currently can configure one cluster, by telling the NLB manager to look at localhost, then choosing one of the NICs. I set the cluster ip to 192.168.1.100 and the NIC ip to 192.168.1.101.

At this point, I can access my server via that new cluster ip. I can ping it fine as well. Now I try to add another host, I type in the ip address of the second NIC. 192.168.1.103. It connect and I can select that NIC to add. I then set the address of this NIC to 192.168.1.102.

The NLB manager refreshes, shows my my cluster and the two NICs. The first NIC works fine, but the second NIC always is misconfigured.

I just can't figure out how to get both NICs to become configured and balanced. I can see the server and move files with one configure NIC and one misconfigured NIC. Also the server cannot access the internet.

Is NLB designed to do this? Everything I read setups up the NLB for 1 NIC public access and 1 NIC private access. I want both NICs to be able to share over my private network and be able to download.

Can anyone help?

riser

Illustrious
NLB basically combines two or more NICs or clusters together and shares the data out between them. Instead of 1 NIC being at 100%, 2 are at 50%.

It sounds like your 2nd NIC is being configured wrong though. I haven't messed with NLB in 2k8 yet though.

What is the purpose of NLB the 2 NICs? If its a server I'm guessing you have 2 Gigabit NICs. What kind of data are you working with that you need to NLB 2 gigabit NICs?

Here are some links that might help:

http://www.windowsreference.com/windows-server-2008/dual-nic-nlb-configuration-with-windows-server-2008-nlb-clusters/