Able to move my 2 harddrives in raid 0 to another PC w/o wiping?

mechwr

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2011
I just built my PC and my 2x 1TB Caviar Black is in raid 0, this is my first time setting up raid, and some questions came to mind.

Q:If I have to wipe my drives when I raid 0 them, will I have to wipe them again if I decide to build a new computer in the future and use the same harddrives?

Q2:On my bootscreen it shows my raid 0 setup, is there a way to disable/enable to show this to reduce boot time?

Solution
There is no widely-used "standard" for how RAID controllers handle the details of data storage on a pair of HDD's. This means that, as a general rule, when you try to move a pair of RAID0 HDD's from one machine to another, it is likely the new machine's controllers can NOT read or use the data on the old HDD's. You are left with only one option - wipe the HDD's clean and establish a new RAID0 array. Of course, this also means you lose everything on the drives. So, you MUST make a reliable complete backup of the original RAID0 array in the old machine BEFORE trying the move.

Now, sometimes it does work anyway. The odds of success are much better IF the RAID controller chip in the new machine is from the same chip maker as the old...

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
There is no widely-used "standard" for how RAID controllers handle the details of data storage on a pair of HDD's. This means that, as a general rule, when you try to move a pair of RAID0 HDD's from one machine to another, it is likely the new machine's controllers can NOT read or use the data on the old HDD's. You are left with only one option - wipe the HDD's clean and establish a new RAID0 array. Of course, this also means you lose everything on the drives. So, you MUST make a reliable complete backup of the original RAID0 array in the old machine BEFORE trying the move.