Sign in with
Your question

Help buying NAS system for Photography

Last response: in Storage
October 9, 2011 5:45:36 PM

Hello,

Im looking to set up a NAS system for a photographer I work for and have found it more difficult then I expected do to his requirements and budget.

What I'm looking for is to create a centralized networked storage server of about 8-10tbs that is upgradeable in a few years. ideally 2 15tb terastations or similar systems would do the job but are out of his budget.

The budget constraint comes in because we will need 2 systems set up so one can be a back up of the first. Plan to back up weekly and then take it off site.

Ready made systems are out of our budget so I was looking into DIY systems. I have plenty of experience building computers and using NAS servers but this is my first attempt building one.

A few questions.
Is there a way to add or connect a NAS server to another so theoretically I could have an 8tb 4 bay box and down the line add a second 8tb 4 bay box to the system? Or are there any systems that allow chaining NAS servers in say a raid 5 array? Someone suggested an external sas enclosure that could be daisy chained but Im not to familiar with them.

If I had a 4-5 bay NAS with only 3 2tb drives in a raid 5 array what is required to add drives over time? Rebuild array or can they be incorporated while server is live? Ive heard of online expansion but dont quite understand it. Time is not much of a problem the system would be added to within a year and wouldnt need to be accessed while upgraded. but not having to rebuild the whole raid would be better.

Also i was looking at Sans digital cases since Ive used there products in the past and found a few in the price range but was unsure on what features are needed to achieve whats stated above.