Overclocking FX-4100

JuanB

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2012
So i've had my computer for about three months now and i want to overclock it to see if there will be any performance increase when playing pc games such as the witcher 2, crysis, modern warfare 3, etc. I have the FX-4100 along with the Asus M5A78L-M/usb3 and the HD 6770.

I am a complete noob with overclocking and i heard the FX-4100 is great for overclocking. I want overclock my system to 4.4GHz. So far i've overclocked it to 4.0Ghz with the stock cooler (I get about 56C on full load with Prime95 on my stock cooler, I'm looking into buying a new one, any recommendations?). When i run Prime95 64bit test, My Frequency drops from 4.0Ghz to 3.3Ghz then works it's way back up 4.0Ghz and stays there for a couple of seconds then goes back down again. Is this supposed to happen? What am i doing wrong? Is there any other settings i should change?

Here is a picture of my settings: (i also have cool & quiet disabled)
http://i.imgur.com/PIkKj.jpg?1

Any help/advice would be appreciated:)

lighter420

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2011
Sounds to me you are having a throttling problem, make sure you watch temps while you run the first 10 mins of so of prime95 If the processor is getting too hot it will throttle down if you have the protection for it enabled. For cheap you can buy a cooler master hyper 212+ with push/pull fans, cfm's and rpm's are the two most important things to look for in a fan besides the db's (loudness). Places you buy the fans from usually have these specs listed I recommend arctic silver 5 for your thermal grease but any grease will work. You can watch vids of how to install all of it right on youtube. Using 2 myself both oc'd and temps are very acceptable. Make sure you will have clearance on your ram and your case as it can be pretty massive if you arent ready for it.