$1000-$1200 Gaming PC

narek23

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2009
Edited: Changed the ram to OCZ, keeping the hard drive to one F3 and will add an SSD when they're cheaper, going with the 750W corsair

Hey guys, I'm a long time reader of everyone elses builds and I'm finally getting ready to do my own. Any help will be appreciated, I'm competent with computers, but have never built a system myself.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Waiting for black Friday, if there aren’t good deals on the parts I want, I’ll buy them that weekend anyway

BUDGET RANGE: 1000-1200 (flexible a little beyond this too)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: SolidWorks and other similar programs, gaming, School work/ heavy internet usage, music. All pretty equally important. Games will be Diablo 3 and Starcraft 2 as well as FPS such as CoD, Crysis, Team Fortress/HL engine). I’d like to be able to do Flight Simulator too, but I’ve never used it before so that’s just extra if possible. I won’t watch movies on this system, but I do watch internet videos of course (current system lags at full screen, its very old)

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: monitor, speakers, OS (Windows 7 64 bit)

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: mainly newegg (flexible on this),also love amazon, but I don’t know how they are for buying computer parts COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: (USA)

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe(never done before, but would like to if its easy) SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Probably not

MONITOR RESOLUTION: (computer monitor at 1680x1050, and HDTV as second monitor at 1920x1080)

CPU:
i7-920
$200 @ Microcenter

CPU cooler:
Scythe Mugen
$35 @ newegg

Motherboard:
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
$290 @ newegg

Video Card:
Radeon 5850
$300 @ newegg

Ram:
OCZ Gold 6gb
$130 after rebate @ newegg

Hard Drive:
Samsung F3 1TB
$80 @ newegg

Power Supply:
Corsair
750W for 90 after rebate

Case:
Antec 902
$95 after rebate @ newegg

Optical Drive:
Samsung Black DVD RW
$30 @ newegg

Thermal Paste:
Arctic Silver
$7 @ newegg

Keyboard/Mouse: