Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I7-820qm vs. i7-920 Quad (Nehalem) in a laptop?

Last response: in CPUs
January 30, 2010 5:07:37 AM

Hello everyone,

I'm a sound designer and run a studio, but also do alot of mobile jobs too.

Recently i decided to just jump in and purchase a Sager 8760 laptop with a i7-820qm. I dropped quite a bit of cash and am pretty satisfied with it.

Now i'm looking at the core clock speeds when i'm working and i have yet to see them jump to the supposed maximum, even when i am processing enough to get the CPUs to 100%. The highest i've seen them clock to is 2.6ghz.

Anyhow, the short of it is this: am i being too picky in expecting this PC to do everything in the universe i can throw at it, or should i have gone with something that has a standard desktop processor (Sager themselves has the 9280 which is configured with nehalem CPUs at higher speed) and drop another $300 or so?

Will this 8760 take an upgrade to a regular 920 Quad Nehalem, or is it a different socket?

Thanks for all your help, i've been lurking tom's hardware forums for a long time and never had anything i had to ask before now. Please help!
a b à CPUs
a c 244 D Laptop
January 30, 2010 1:09:17 PM

Hello and welcome to the forums :) 
i7 920 desktop is faster than a i7 820M but it consumes more power and therefor you will have less battery life.
Also you can't put an i7 920 desktop into a laptop which has i7M in it since they use different sockets.
m
l
January 30, 2010 9:59:33 PM

Maziar said:
Hello and welcome to the forums :) 
i7 920 desktop is faster than a i7 820M but it consumes more power and therefor you will have less battery life.
Also you can't put an i7 920 desktop into a laptop which has i7M in it since they use different sockets.

Hey Mazier cheers for the welcome, glad to be here and thanks for your answer.