Sign in with
Your question

Water Cooling or Air Cooling?

Last response: in Overclocking
April 7, 2012 7:36:42 PM

Hello,

This is my first time posting a question here.

I recently planned to purchase a desktop, and asked a dealer to help me build one. This is the specs he gave me.

i5 2500k
P8Z770V-Pro
8GB Ripjaws X 1.35V
128GB M4 SSD
24X LG DVDRW
Corsair TX650
ATI 7870 2GB
Dell U2312HM Monitor
CM Storm Trooper Window

the thing is, he recommended water cooling, and says its more efficient, silent, and fairly easy to maintain.

This is the water cooling kit.
XSPC RX240 Kit
XSPC RS240/EX240 Radiator

and this is the alternative air cooling kit
CM 212 EVO GT Combo

The price is around $330 difference, and because i have not used any water cooling before, i have no idea how to maintain it, and how much better it will be than air-cooling.

Any advises, please?
a b K Overclocking
April 9, 2012 8:42:00 AM

Watercooling will be more efficient and quieter but it will be more difficult to maintain than air cooling. However there's no need for watercooling unless you're going to overclock a lot.
You can probably get around with air cooling and those 300 in your pocket.
m
l
April 9, 2012 8:56:35 AM

rayzel2112 said:
Hello,

This is my first time posting a question here.

I recently planned to purchase a desktop, and asked a dealer to help me build one. This is the specs he gave me.

i5 2500k
P8Z770V-Pro
8GB Ripjaws X 1.35V
128GB M4 SSD
24X LG DVDRW
Corsair TX650
ATI 7870 2GB
Dell U2312HM Monitor
CM Storm Trooper Window

the thing is, he recommended water cooling, and says its more efficient, silent, and fairly easy to maintain.

This is the water cooling kit.
XSPC RX240 Kit
XSPC RS240/EX240 Radiator

and this is the alternative air cooling kit
CM 212 EVO GT Combo

The price is around $330 difference, and because i have not used any water cooling before, i have no idea how to maintain it, and how much better it will be than air-cooling.

Any advises, please?