Sign in with
Your question

Fan Setup Push/Pull Inverse?

Last response: in Overclocking
April 9, 2012 3:31:32 PM

Hello,

I have a CoolerMaster HAF932 Case, and I have an (esoteric) problem that I want to fix, but wanted some commentary on first.

Usually the case is designed such that fans installed on the top panel (I have 3x120 there) pull air out of the case, less dense hot air rises and such.

The other fans then, including the rear fan and the side panel fans (I have 4x120 there to cool my RAID controllers) are intake fans.

I want to invert these fans. (the machine needs to sit underneath a desk... and put simply the fans blowing out the top are extremely annoying blowing on me all the time).

I want to pull air in through the top of the case, and push it out the back and side. The CPU and motherboard are liquid cooled.

Would this create heat problems around the PCI cards? Right now the fans blow right onto the extremely hot RAID controller cards, but if I flip them, they won't get direct air blown on them, but rather will have air exhausted right near them.
a b K Overclocking
April 9, 2012 11:07:13 PM

You already know the air flow theory. Start some experimentation along with recording temps, then decide on the ideal configuration in your instance.
April 10, 2012 4:31:20 AM

I'd leave the fan configuration as is. As you said, heat rises. There's no way to change that - you can change where your case exhausts its air, but you're going to run into problems when the hot air rises up towards the top of the case and is blown back onto your components by your top intake fans.

If you absolutely cannot stand the hot air being exhausted through the top, try redirecting the airflow using some tape and a standard piece of paper or cardboard - you could vent the air away from yourself with little difficulty.

Hope I helped!
Related resources
April 10, 2012 7:21:27 AM